Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Gigs With Drinks

Don't Tell Mama's



Friday, February 27th at 9:30PM

343 W 46th St.

$15 cover without areservation

$12 cover with areservation

2 drinkminimum - CASH ONLY CLUB


or 212-757-0788 after 4PM

hosted by

The New York Civil Liberties Union Young Professionals
Performed at the exclusive burlesque club The Box
189 Chrystie St.
Tuesday, March 3
Doors open at 7 p.m.

Proceeds will benefit the LGBT work of the NYCLU.
Performers Include:
* Nellie McKay
* Trans singer-songwriter Our Lady J (named one of Out Magazine’s 2008 Out 100)
* Performer and comedienne Jackie Hoffman
* Actor and illusionist Michael Carbonaro (Another Gay Movie)
* Comedienne Poppi Kramer (“The Biggest Loser”)
* Award-winning musical comedy duo Mel & El

Emcee Murray Hill and DJ Brenda Black

The evening will feature an open bar all night, raffle prizes, a live
auction, go-go dancers and many surprise guests.

Single tickets ($75, advance sales only), and premier table seating can be purchased here.

Monday, February 23, 2009

Winning Awards With Long Names

El: What's the name of that award we won?

Mel: The NYCWAM Collaboration Award.

El: And that stands for New York City Women and Men?

Mel: No.

El: Nice Young Charming Weird American Musicians?

Mel: Stop it.

El: I can't.

Mel: You can and you will.

El: Tell me what it stands for.

Mel: New York Coalition of Professional Women in the Arts and Media's
Biennial Collaboration Award.

El: There are more words in that than the acronym had letters for.

Mel: I WILL hit you with this cupcake.

El: Please don't. I'm an award-winner, after all.

The New York Coalition of Professional Women in the Arts & Media presents
the 2008 Collaboration Award

Please join the NYCWAM Board Members and Honorary Artistic Advisors Nancy Ford, Gretchen Cryer and Leslie Ayvazian to honor the winners of the New York Coalition of Professional Women in the Arts and Media's Biennial Collaboration Award.

$1000 Prize: Sounding,
written by Jennifer Gibbs, directed by Kristen Marting

Honored Finalists:
Mel and El, This Show Rhymes: Melanie Adelman & Ellie Dvorkin
Frontlines, Political Plays by American Women: Shirley Lauro & Alexis Greene
Showers of Happiness: Carol Todd & Catherine Eaton
Wellsprings: Elyse Singer & Ruth Margraff

Monday, March 2, 2009
The Gershwin Hotel, 7 East 27th Street

Doors open at 6:30 p.m. with a champagne reception.
The Awards ceremony begins at 7:15, followed by wine and dessert.
Tickets are $35 in advance, payable by check or by credit card via or at the door for $40.

If you wish to pay by check, please make the check out to:
NY Coalition of Prof Women in the Arts & Media, PO Box 2537, New York, NY 10108
Checks must be received by February 28.